USPS Change of Address and Mail Forwarding: Cost, Time and How to File

A USPS change of address can be filed online at moversguide.usps.com or at a Post Office on PS Form 3575. When we checked on November 2, 2026, USPS’s forwarding page listed a $1.25 identity verification fee for online requests, and Domestic Mail Manual 507 says “Generally, forwarding is available for the first 12 months.”

Maintained by Archie Chang · Reviewed November 2, 2026 · Methodology & sources

Not an official source. FedRateCalc is independent and is not affiliated with the United States Postal Service. The rules and fees on this page are copied from the USPS documents listed under Sources, with the date of each copy. USPS.com and your Post Office are authoritative for your own change of address.

Mail forwarding end date calculator

Enter the date forwarding starts. For a permanent change of address, the calculator adds the periods in the Domestic Mail Manual to that date, one row per mail class, as labelled arithmetic. For a temporary change of address, it checks the end date against the DMM limits of 15 to 185 days for one order and 364 days overall. The table in the next section shows the same rows for an example start date of March 31, 2027.

Your change of address

The calculator does not know the date USPS activates an order (USPS’s page says to allow at least 7-10 business days after approval), whether a piece carries a mailer endorsement, or whether Extended Mail Forwarding was bought. It reports what DMM 507 says for the dates entered, for the 6 rows in the DMM table.

Result

Forwarding period by mail class for a start date of March 31, 2027
Mail classForwarding period endsReturned with the new address attached
First-Class Mail (including postcards), USPS Ground Advantage – Retail, USPS Ground Advantage – Commercial and Priority MailDMM 507.1.5.1, Exhibit 1.5.1March 31, 2028start date + 12 monthsDomestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count; this adds calendar months to the start date, and a day missing from the target month moves to that month’s last day. Under this arithmetic the date shown is also the first day of the “Months 13 through 18” window.March 31, 2028 to September 30, 2028start date + 12 months to start date + 18 monthsDMM 507 prints “Months 13 through 18”; Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count.
Priority Mail ExpressDMM 507.1.5.5, Exhibit 1.5.5March 31, 2028start date + 12 monthsDomestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count; this adds calendar months to the start date, and a day missing from the target month moves to that month’s last day. Under this arithmetic the date shown is also the first day of the “Months 13 through 18” window.March 31, 2028 to September 30, 2028start date + 12 months to start date + 18 monthsDMM 507 prints “Months 13 through 18”; Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count.
Package Services and Parcel SelectDMM 507.1.5.4, Exhibit 1.5.4March 31, 2028start date + 12 monthsException: USPS disposes of Bound Printed Matter (BPM) flat-sized pieces with no mailer endorsement that does not have an eligible extra service, and BPM parcels with USPS Tracking, Signature Confirmation, or Signature Confirmation Restricted Delivery, but with no other eligible extra service.Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count; this adds calendar months to the start date, and a day missing from the target month moves to that month’s last day. Under this arithmetic the date shown is also the first day of the “Months 13 through 18” window.March 31, 2028 to September 30, 2028start date + 12 months to start date + 18 monthsDMM 507 prints “Months 13 through 18”; Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count.
PeriodicalsDMM 507.1.5.2, Exhibit 1.5.2May 30, 2027start date + 60 daysDomestic Mail Manual 507.2.3.4 does not define the exact day count for the 60 days; this adds calendar days to the start date.The DMM prints no return-with-new-address period for this row.
USPS Marketing MailDMM 507.1.5.3, Exhibit 1.5.3March 31, 2028start date + 12 monthsOnly for a piece with a mailer endorsement such as “Address Service Requested”; for a piece with no endorsement the DMM prints “Piece disposed of by USPS.”Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count; this adds calendar months to the start date, and a day missing from the target month moves to that month’s last day. Under this arithmetic the date shown is also the first day of the “Months 13 through 18” window.March 31, 2028 to September 30, 2028start date + 12 months to start date + 18 monthsDMM 507 prints “Months 13 through 18”; Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count.
Mail for U.S. Armed Forces personnel (and household members) under an official permanent change of station order to an overseas APO/FPO/DPO addressDMM 507.2.2.6May 30, 2027start date + 60 daysDomestic Mail Manual 507.2.2.6 does not define the exact day count for the 60 days; this adds calendar days to the start date.The DMM prints no return-with-new-address period for this row.

Record of the order (DMM 507.2.1.1)

Post Offices keep a record of a permanent order until September 30, 2028 (end of the month in which the change takes effect + 18 months). The DMM counts this from the end of the month; it does not say whether the 12 months are counted the same way.

If Extended Mail Forwarding is bought (arithmetic only)
ExtensionDateArithmetic
6 more monthsSeptember 30, 2028start date + 12 months + 6 months
12 more monthsMarch 31, 2029start date + 12 months + 12 months
18 more monthsSeptember 30, 2029start date + 12 months + 18 months

Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.2 does not say how the extension period is counted; these rows add calendar months to the 12-month date.

How to file a USPS change of address

Online. USPS’s forwarding page (checked November 2, 2026) describes choosing an Individual, Family or Business move, verifying identity, and paying the identity verification fee:

“Pay the $1.25 identity verification fee. The billing address on your credit card must match either your old or new address.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026

Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.4 describes the online method as “Use Internet Change of Address (ICOA) at moversguide.usps.com.” and says:

“Provide a valid credit card number for authentication verification. The customer’s credit card is charged a credit card authentication fee (see Notice 123—Price List).”
DMM 507.2.1.4

Notice 123 lists the amount:

“Per Authentication (COA only) $1.25”
USPS Price List Notice 123, “Effective October 04, 2026”, Credit Card Authentication Fee

At a Post Office. The Domestic Mail Manual lists the form:

“Mail or present PS Form 3575 to any Post Office, or as the Postal Service otherwise directs.”
DMM 507.2.1.4
“Request a free Mover's Guide packet. Fill out the PS Form 3575 found inside the packet, and give it to the retail associate. They will use your photo ID to verify your identity, then process your change of address request.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026

The steps for filing at a Post Office on USPS’s “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page did not state a fee when we checked on November 2, 2026.

Timing. USPS’s page says:

“Once your request is approved, allow at least 7-10 business days for it to go into effect.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026

The USPS documents we checked on November 2, 2026 (the forwarding page and DMM 507.2.1) did not state how far ahead of a move a request can be filed.

In person only. USPS’s forwarding page says:

“You must submit your change of address request in person at a Post Office location if: You're moving outside the United States You're submitting a change of request for someone else You're unable to verify your identity online”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026

Filing for someone else. Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.5 says:

“Individuals may not file a change-of-address request for someone other than themselves, or for a business, without authorization (i.e., notarized letter or letter on company letterhead) showing they are an authorized agent of the person(s) or business that is moving.”
DMM 507.2.1.5

Military moves. USPS’s forwarding page says:

“For U.S. military moves, first work with your command; your AMPS relocation info will automatically be shared with USPS.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026

Our page on how to address military mail covers APO, FPO and DPO address formats.

Temporary and permanent change of address

The two USPS documents give the temporary limits in different words, so both are shown with their dates.

Forwarding periods in the two USPS documents
ItemDMM 507 (archive copy captured October 9, 2026)USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page (checked November 2, 2026)
Permanent: forwarding period“Generally, forwarding is available for the first 12 months.”“Standard mail forwarding lasts 12 months.”
Permanent: after forwarding endsMonths 13 through 18: returned with the new address attached (First-Class Mail, Priority Mail, Priority Mail Express; Package Services with postage charged as the DMM describes). Periodicals: after the 60-day period, “disposed of by USPS”.“When your mail forwarding period ends, USPS will return your mail to the sender for 6 months with a label that has your new address.”
Temporary: length“two weeks to six months (15 to 185 days)” for an initial order; “not to exceed 12 months (364 total consecutive days)” overall“relocating for 15 days up to 1 year”
“A customer temporarily moving away may have mail forwarded for a specific period of time, not to exceed 12 months (364 total consecutive days).”
DMM 507.2.1.3
“The Postal Service provides temporary forwarding service for a period of two weeks to six months (15 to 185 days) in response to an initial temporary change-of-address order.”
DMM 507.2.1.3
“Customers may extend the temporary forwarding period up to a maximum of 12 months (364 days), by filing a second change-of-address order to begin on the first day of the second six-month period (the 186th day), and expiring on the desired date, up to and including the last day of the second six-month period (364th day). Every temporary change-of-address order must specify both beginning and end dates.”
DMM 507.2.1.3
“If you're only relocating for 15 days up to 1 year (like going to school or staying with family or friends), submit a temporary change of address request.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026

The calculator counts the start date as day 1. DMM 507.2.1.3 does not say which date is day 1, so that is an assumption. DMM 507.1.4.4 says its forwarding charts do not provide information on temporary changes of address:

“The information in the charts in this unit is associated with a customer’s change- of-address order. Information on temporary changes of address is not provided.”
DMM 507.1.4.4

Forwarding period by mail class

DMM 507.1.5 prints what happens to a piece that cannot be delivered as addressed, by class of mail. The treatment of a piece with no endorsement is the same as “Forwarding Service Requested” for First-Class Mail, Priority Mail, Priority Mail Express, USPS Ground Advantage and Package Services; for Periodicals the 60-day treatment is the one printed for no endorsement; for USPS Marketing Mail the DMM prints that a piece with no endorsement is disposed of. For Package Services and Parcel Select the DMM adds an exception for Bound Printed Matter, printed in the table. The table shows the DMM wording and the dates for the example start date.

Example start date: March 31, 2027

Treatment of mail after a permanent change-of-address order, from DMM 507 (archive copy captured October 9, 2026)
Mail classDMM wordingExample dates
First-Class Mail (including postcards), USPS Ground Advantage – Retail, USPS Ground Advantage – Commercial and Priority MailDMM 507.1.5.1, Exhibit 1.5.1Treatment printed for “Forwarding Service Requested” (the treatment for a piece with no endorsement)

No endorsement: Same treatment as “Forwarding Service Requested.”

  • Months 1 through 12: Piece forwarded (no charge).
  • Months 13 through 18: Piece returned with new address attached (no charge).
  • After month 18: Piece returned with reason for nondelivery attached (no charge).
March 31, 2028start date + 12 monthsReturned with new address until September 30, 2028 (start date + 12 months to start date + 18 months)Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count; this adds calendar months to the start date, and a day missing from the target month moves to that month’s last day. Under this arithmetic the date shown is also the first day of the “Months 13 through 18” window.
Priority Mail ExpressDMM 507.1.5.5, Exhibit 1.5.5Treatment printed for “Forwarding Service Requested” (the treatment for a piece with no endorsement)

No endorsement: Same as USPS treatment for “Forwarding Service Requested.”

  • Months 1 through 12: Piece forwarded (no charge).
  • Months 13 through 18: Piece returned with new address attached (no charge).
  • After month 18: Piece returned with reason for nondelivery attached (no charge).
March 31, 2028start date + 12 monthsReturned with new address until September 30, 2028 (start date + 12 months to start date + 18 months)Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count; this adds calendar months to the start date, and a day missing from the target month moves to that month’s last day. Under this arithmetic the date shown is also the first day of the “Months 13 through 18” window.
Package Services and Parcel SelectDMM 507.1.5.4, Exhibit 1.5.4Treatment printed for “Forwarding Service Requested” (the treatment for a piece with no endorsement)

No endorsement: Same treatment as “Forwarding Service Requested.”

Exception: USPS disposes of Bound Printed Matter (BPM) flat-sized pieces with no mailer endorsement that does not have an eligible extra service, and BPM parcels with USPS Tracking, Signature Confirmation, or Signature Confirmation Restricted Delivery, but with no other eligible extra service.

  • Months 1 through 12: Package Services forwarded postage due at the single-piece price for the class of mail. Parcel Select forwarded as postage due to addressee at the Ground Advantage – Commercial price plus the additional service fee. If addressee refuses to pay postage due, piece is returned with reason for nondelivery attached; postage charged at the applicable Package Services single-piece price or the USPS Ground Advantage – Commercial price plus the additional service fee.
  • Months 13 through 18: Piece returned with new address attached (postage charged as noted under “Months 1 through 12.")
  • After month 18: Piece returned with reason for nondelivery attached (postage charged as noted under “If no change-of-address order on file.”)
March 31, 2028start date + 12 monthsReturned with new address until September 30, 2028 (start date + 12 months to start date + 18 months)Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count; this adds calendar months to the start date, and a day missing from the target month moves to that month’s last day. Under this arithmetic the date shown is also the first day of the “Months 13 through 18” window.
PeriodicalsDMM 507.1.5.2, Exhibit 1.5.2Treatment printed for no endorsement
  • First 60 days: Piece forwarded (no charge).
  • After 60-day period: Separate notice of new address or reason for nondelivery provided (in either case, address correction fee charged); piece disposed of by USPS.
May 30, 2027start date + 60 daysDomestic Mail Manual 507.2.3.4 does not define the exact day count for the 60 days; this adds calendar days to the start date.
USPS Marketing MailDMM 507.1.5.3, Exhibit 1.5.3Treatment printed for “Address Service Requested” (Option 1); the DMM prints “Piece disposed of by USPS.” for a piece with no endorsement

No endorsement: Piece disposed of by USPS.

  • Months 1 through 12: Piece forwarded (no charge); separate notice of new address provided. Address correction fee charged.
  • Months 13 through 18: Piece returned with new address attached […]
  • After month 18: Piece returned with reason for nondelivery attached (only weighted fee charged).
March 31, 2028start date + 12 monthsReturned with new address until September 30, 2028 (start date + 12 months to start date + 18 months)Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 does not define the exact day count; this adds calendar months to the start date, and a day missing from the target month moves to that month’s last day. Under this arithmetic the date shown is also the first day of the “Months 13 through 18” window.
Mail for U.S. Armed Forces personnel (and household members) under an official permanent change of station order to an overseas APO/FPO/DPO addressDMM 507.2.2.6Treatment printed for official change of station orders
  • If the official permanent change of station order is to an overseas APO/FPO or DPO address, military authorities forward mail between the United States and those addresses; forwarding is limited to 60 days.
May 30, 2027start date + 60 daysDomestic Mail Manual 507.2.2.6 does not define the exact day count for the 60 days; this adds calendar days to the start date.

USPS’s forwarding page lists what it forwards:

“First-Class Mail® is forwarded for free.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026
“Periodicals (newsletters and magazines) are forwarded for free for 60 days if fully prepaid by the sender.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026
“Periodicals publications (including publications pending Periodicals authorization) are forwarded without charge for 60 days when postage is fully prepaid by the sender.”
DMM 507.2.3.4
“Media Mail® items are forwarded, but you must pay the cost for shipping from your local Post Office™ location to your new address.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026
“USPS Marketing Mail® is not forwarded unless the sender has paid forwarding postage.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026

The Domestic Mail Manual prints “Piece disposed of by USPS.” for USPS Marketing Mail with no endorsement and forwarding for 12 months for a piece endorsed “Address Service Requested” (Option 1); the forwarding page says USPS Marketing Mail is forwarded only if the sender has paid forwarding postage. The record of a permanent order:

“A record of permanent change-of-address orders is kept by Post Offices for 18 months, from the end of the month when the change takes effect.”
DMM 507.2.1.1

Extending mail forwarding

“Customers may extend a permanent change-of-address order for up to an additional 18 months of forwarding by purchasing Extended Mail Forwarding service at a Post Office, or online through the Change of Address Application (Mover’s Guide) on usps.com. Extended Mail Forwarding service may be purchased in six-month increments, or for an additional 6, 12, or 18 months, or any combination, not to exceed 18 months.”
DMM 507.2.1.2
Extended Mail Forwarding fees, USPS Price List Notice 123, “Effective October 04, 2026”
Extension periodFee
6 months$26.00
12 months$39.00
18 months$52.00
“Extension Period Fee 6 Months $26.00 12 Months 39.00 18 Months 52.00”
USPS Price List Notice 123, “Effective October 04, 2026”, Extended Mail Forwarding
“You can’t cancel or request a refund for Extended Mail Forwarding.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026
“(USPS will also send you a reminder email when you have 1 month left in your mail forwarding.)”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026

Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.2 does not say how the extension period is counted; the calculator’s extension rows add calendar months to the 12-month date and label them as arithmetic.

Premium Forwarding Service Residential

Premium Forwarding Service fees, Notice 123; USPS’s “Premium Forwarding Services” page (checked November 2, 2026) shows the same Residential amounts
FeeAmount
Residential: enrollment, online$26.40
Residential: enrollment, at the Post Office$28.70
Residential: weekly shipment charge$29.70
Commercial: annual enrollment, online$26.40
“Residential (Priority Mail Only) Enrollment—online $26.40 Enrollment—retail 28.70 Weekly shipment charge 29.70”
USPS Price List Notice 123, “Effective October 04, 2026”, Premium Forwarding Services
“Commercial (Priority Mail Express or Priority Mail) Annual Enrollment—online $26.40”
USPS Price List Notice 123, “Effective October 04, 2026”, Premium Forwarding Services
“With Premium Forwarding Service Residential (PFS-Residential®), your mail is packed up at your local Post Office™ facility and forwarded weekly by Priority Mail.”
USPS “Premium Forwarding Services” page, checked November 2, 2026
“PFS-Residential is available for domestic addresses only; this service is not available for APO/FPO/DPO or Guam addresses.”
USPS “Premium Forwarding Services” page, checked November 2, 2026

USPS’s online enrollment steps for PFS-Residential list:

“If you enroll online, you can manage your order online. Plan ahead. Cancel any other forwarding or change-of-address requests.”
USPS “Premium Forwarding Services” page, checked November 2, 2026, “Enrolling in PFS-Residential Online”
“Forwarding usually begins the Wednesday following your enrollment.”
USPS “Premium Forwarding Services” page, checked November 2, 2026

What is not forwarded

“For security, mailers like government agencies and financial institutions do not allow forwarding of sensitive documents, including: Identity documents, especially driver’s licenses and voter registration Credit cards, bank statements, insurance info, and other financial or medical information Other personal or sensitive information”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026
“USPS Marketing Mail® is not forwarded unless the sender has paid forwarding postage.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026
“Mail addressed to an addressee at a commercial mail receiving agency (CMRA) is not forwarded through the USPS.”
DMM 507.2.2.7
“If the official permanent change of station order is to an overseas APO/FPO or DPO address, military authorities forward mail between the United States and those addresses; forwarding is limited to 60 days.”
DMM 507.2.2.6

Other addresses to update

“Your change of address order only changes your mailing address with the Post Office. You are responsible for telling government agencies, companies, and any other senders that your address has changed.”
USPS “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked November 2, 2026

Our page on IRS Form 8822 and Form 8822-B covers the IRS change-of-address forms for individuals and for businesses.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a USPS change of address cost?

USPS’s “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked on November 2, 2026, lists a $1.25 identity verification fee for an online request and says the credit card billing address must match either the old or the new address. USPS Price List Notice 123, “Effective October 04, 2026”, lists a Credit Card Authentication Fee of $1.25 per authentication (COA only). The steps for filing at a Post Office on that USPS page did not state a fee when we checked.

How long does USPS forward mail?

Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.1 says “Generally, forwarding is available for the first 12 months.” USPS’s “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked on November 2, 2026, says “Standard mail forwarding lasts 12 months.” The Domestic Mail Manual (archive copy captured October 9, 2026) lists a shorter period for Periodicals, 60 days, and a longer period for Extended Mail Forwarding.

What happens to mail after the forwarding period ends?

For a piece with no endorsement, Domestic Mail Manual 507 (archive copy captured October 9, 2026) prints the same treatment as “Forwarding Service Requested” for First-Class Mail, Priority Mail, Priority Mail Express, USPS Ground Advantage and Package Services. Under that treatment months 13 through 18 are the period in which a piece is returned with the new address attached (for Package Services, with postage charged as the manual describes), and after month 18 a piece is returned with the reason for nondelivery attached. For Periodicals the manual prints that after the 60-day period a piece is “disposed of by USPS”. USPS’s “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked on November 2, 2026, says “When your mail forwarding period ends, USPS will return your mail to the sender for 6 months with a label that has your new address.”

How long can a temporary USPS change of address last?

Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.3 (archive copy captured October 9, 2026) gives “two weeks to six months (15 to 185 days)” for an initial temporary order and a maximum of “364 total consecutive days” with a second order that begins on the 186th day. USPS’s “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked on November 2, 2026, describes a temporary request as one for “15 days up to 1 year”.

How do I extend USPS mail forwarding, and what does it cost?

Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.1.2 allows Extended Mail Forwarding for an additional 6, 12, or 18 months, or any combination, “not to exceed 18 months”. USPS Price List Notice 123, “Effective October 04, 2026”, lists $26.00 for 6 months, $39.00 for 12 months and $52.00 for 18 months. USPS’s “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked on November 2, 2026, says “You can’t cancel or request a refund for Extended Mail Forwarding.”

Does USPS forward all mail after a change of address?

Not in every case. USPS’s “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked on November 2, 2026, says “USPS Marketing Mail® is not forwarded unless the sender has paid forwarding postage.” and that Periodicals are forwarded “for free for 60 days if fully prepaid by the sender”. Domestic Mail Manual 507.2.2.7 says “Mail addressed to an addressee at a commercial mail receiving agency (CMRA) is not forwarded through the USPS.”

What does Premium Forwarding Service Residential cost?

USPS Price List Notice 123, “Effective October 04, 2026”, lists Premium Forwarding Service Residential enrollment at $26.40 online and $28.70 at retail, and a weekly shipment charge of $29.70. USPS’s “Premium Forwarding Services” page, checked on November 2, 2026, lists the same three amounts and describes the enrollment fees as non-refundable.

Does a USPS change of address update my address with other agencies and companies?

USPS’s “Standard Forward Mail & Change of Address” page, checked on November 2, 2026, says “Your change of address order only changes your mailing address with the Post Office. You are responsible for telling government agencies, companies, and any other senders that your address has changed.”

More USPS postage and fee tools

Sources

Reviewed November 2, 2026. Dates in the calculator and in the example table are arithmetic on the periods printed in the Domestic Mail Manual; the Domestic Mail Manual does not print them. Check USPS.com or a Post Office for your own order.