Form 1099-INT: Interest Income Boxes Explained

Form 1099-INT, titled Interest Income, shows interest a payer reported for you: taxable interest in box 1, interest on U.S. Savings Bonds and Treasury obligations in box 3, and tax-exempt interest in box 8. The IRS form and instructions linked from its About page were marked Rev. January 2024 when we checked on November 2, 2026, and have the payer file for amounts of at least $10 in boxes 1, 3, or 8 (or at least $600 of interest paid in the course of a trade or business), while Publication 1099 (2026) lists $10 or more ($2,000 or more in some cases) and January 31 for the recipient’s statement.

Maintained by Archie Chang · Sources checked against IRS text on November 2, 2026 · Methodology & sources

Not an official source. FedRateCalc is independent and is not affiliated with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). IRS.gov is the authority for forms and instructions, and the quoted text on this page is copied from the IRS documents listed under Sources. This page describes what those documents say and is not tax advice. When we checked on November 2, 2026, the IRS About Form 1099-INT page linked a Form 1099-INT and instructions marked Rev. January 2024, and the quotes here come from those two PDFs and from Publication 1099 (2026).

Who files Form 1099-INT and what it reports

The IRS About Form 1099-INT page lists who gets one:

“File Form 1099-INT for each person:
To whom you paid amounts reportable in boxes 1, 3, and 8 of at least $10.

For whom you withheld and paid any foreign tax on interest.

From whom you withheld (and did not refund) any federal income tax under the backup withholding rules regardless of the amount of the payment.
”
IRS, About Form 1099-INT

The Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID say the same thing with an added amount for interest paid in the course of the payer’s trade or business:

“File Form 1099-INT, Interest Income, for each person: 1. To whom you paid amounts reportable in boxes 1, 3, or 8 of at least $10 (or at least $600 of interest paid in the course of your trade or business described in the instructions for Box 1. Interest Income, later); 2. For whom you withheld and paid any foreign tax on interest; or 3. From whom you withheld (and did not refund) any federal income tax under the backup withholding rules regardless of the amount of the payment.”
IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024), Specific Instructions for Form 1099-INT
“Also, include interest of $600 or more paid in the course of your trade or business not meeting the above criteria, such as interest on delayed death benefits paid by a life insurance company, interest received with damages, interest on a state or federal income tax refund, or interest attributable to certain notional principal contracts with nonperiodic payments.”
IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024), Box 1. Interest Income

The instructions also limit and divide what goes on the form:

“Report only interest payments made in the course of your trade or business including federal, state, and local government agencies and activities deemed nonprofit, or for which you were a nominee/middleman. Report interest that is taxable OID in box 1 or 8 of Form 1099-OID, Original Issue Discount, not on Form 1099-INT. Report interest that is tax-exempt OID in box 11 of Form 1099-OID, not on Form 1099-INT. Report exempt-interest dividends from a mutual fund or other regulated investment company (RIC) on Form 1099-DIV.”
IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024), Specific Instructions for Form 1099-INT
“Do not include in box 1 interest on tax-free covenant bonds or dividends from money market funds (which are reportable on Form 1099-DIV).”
IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024), Box 1. Interest Income

Revision and tax year

The IRS About Form 1099-INT page linked a form and instructions that are both marked Rev. January 2024. Publication 1099 is marked 2026 and carries the Guide to Information Returns used below for the amount and the due dates.

The documents quoted on this page and the revision each one prints.
DocumentRevision printed on the documentCatalog number
Form 1099-INTForm 1099-INT (Rev. January 2024)Cat. No. 14410K
Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OIDInstructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024)Cat. No. 27980N
Publication 1099Publication 1099 (2026)Catalog Number 46963K
“Form 1099-INT, Form 1099-OID, and these instructions, contained herein, are continuous use. Both the forms and instructions will be updated as needed.”
IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024), Reminders, “Continuous-use forms and instructions”

The boxes in the table below are the ones printed on that Rev. January 2024 form. This page covers the Rev. January 2024 form and does not compare it with earlier revisions.

The threshold: two IRS documents, two amounts

The Rev. January 2024 instructions put the second amount at $600. Publication 1099 (2026) carries a row for Form 1099-INT with a different amount in its second case, and its What’s New section states the $2,000 threshold for tax years beginning after 2025:

“For tax years beginning after 2025, the minimum threshold amount for reporting certain payments required to be reported on certain information returns and/or perform backup withholding on those payments increased to $2,000 and will be adjusted for inflation beginning in calendar year 2027. Previously, the threshold amount was $600.”
IRS Publication 1099 (2026), What’s New, “Increase in threshold for requiring filing of certain information returns and backup withholding”
The Form 1099-INT amounts in the two IRS documents. The first row is summarized from the instructions; the second is as Publication 1099 prints it.
DocumentAmount for Form 1099-INT
Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024)At least $10 in boxes 1, 3, or 8, or at least $600 of interest paid in the course of your trade or business described in the instructions for box 1; foreign tax withheld and paid; and federal income tax withheld (and not refunded) under the backup withholding rules, regardless of the amount of the payment
Publication 1099 (2026), Guide to Information Returns$10 or more ($2,000**** or more in some cases)

The two documents carry different years and different amounts, and this page does not decide which one applies to a particular payment. The 1099 reporting thresholds page shows the same Form 1099-INT amounts next to the other 1099 forms, and the Form 1099-NEC page covers the $2,000 threshold for nonemployee compensation.

Form 1099-INT box by box

One row per numbered box on the Rev. January 2024 form, followed by a table of the unnumbered FATCA and RTN fields. The third column is the instruction to the payer and the fourth is the text on Copy B, the recipient copy, each copied from the IRS documents. Box 3 is the one for U.S. Savings Bonds and Treasury obligations; box 8 is tax-exempt interest; boxes 11 to 13 are bond premium.

Boxes 1 to 17 of Form 1099-INT (Rev. January 2024), with the IRS instructions to the payer and the Copy B text to the recipient.
BoxLabel on the formIRS instructions to the payerCopy B text to the recipient
1Interest incomeEnter taxable interest not included in box 3. Include amounts of $10 or more, whether or not designated as interest, that are paid or credited to the person's account by savings and loan associations, mutual savings banks not having capital stock represented by shares, building and loan associations, cooperative banks, homestead associations, credit unions, or similar organizations.Shows taxable interest paid to you during the calendar year by the payer. This does not include interest shown in box 3.
2Early withdrawal penaltyEnter interest or principal forfeited because of an early withdrawal of time deposits, such as an early withdrawal from a certificate of deposit (CD), that is deductible from gross income by the recipient.Shows interest or principal forfeited because of early withdrawal of time savings. You may deduct this amount to figure your adjusted gross income on your income tax return.
3Interest on U.S. Savings Bonds and Treasury obligationsEnter interest on U.S. Savings Bonds, Treasury bills, Treasury notes, and Treasury bonds. Do not include in box 1.Shows interest on U.S. Savings Bonds, Treasury bills, Treasury bonds, and Treasury notes. This may or may not all be taxable. See Pub. 550. This interest is exempt from state and local income taxes. This interest is not included in box 1.
4Federal income tax withheldEnter backup withholding.Shows backup withholding. Generally, a payer must backup withhold if you did not furnish your TIN or you did not furnish the correct TIN to the payer.
5Investment expensesFor single-class REMICs only, see Box 5. Investment Expenses under Rules for REMICs, FASITs, and Issuers of CDOs, later.Any amount shown is your share of investment expenses of a single-class REMIC. This amount is included in box 1.
6Foreign tax paidEnter any foreign tax paid on interest. Report this amount in U.S. dollars.Shows foreign tax paid. You may be able to claim this tax as a deduction or a credit on your Form 1040 or 1040-SR.
7Foreign country or U.S. territoryEnter the name of the foreign country or U.S. territory for which the foreign tax was paid and reported in box 6.Shows the country or U.S. territory to which the foreign tax was paid.
8Tax-exempt interestEnter tax-exempt interest that is not OID of $10 or more that is credited or paid to the person's account if that interest is paid on obligations issued by a state, the District of Columbia, a U.S. territory, an Indian tribal government, or their political subdivisions, or qualified volunteer fire departments to finance eligible expenditures.Shows tax-exempt interest paid to you during the calendar year by the payer. See how to report this amount in the Instructions for Form 1040. This amount may be subject to backup withholding. See Box 4 above.
9Specified private activity bond interestEnter interest of $10 or more from specified private activity bonds.Shows tax-exempt interest subject to the alternative minimum tax. This amount is included in box 8. See the Instructions for Form 6251.
10Market discountFor a covered security acquired with market discount, if the recipient notified you that a section 1278(b) election was made, enter the amount of market discount that accrued on the debt instrument during the tax year in the amount of $10 or more.For a taxable or tax-exempt covered security, if you made an election under section 1278(b) to include market discount in income as it accrues and you notified your payer of the election in writing in accordance with Regulations section 1.6045-1(n)(5), shows the market discount that accrued on the debt instrument during the year while held by you, unless it was reported on Form 1099-OID.
11Bond premiumFor a taxable covered security acquired at a premium (other than a U.S. Treasury obligation), enter the amount of bond premium amortization allocable to the interest paid during the tax year, unless you were notified in writing that the holder did not want to amortize bond premium under section 171.For a taxable covered security (other than a U.S. Treasury obligation), shows the amount of premium amortization allocable to the interest payment(s), unless you notified the payer in writing in accordance with Regulations section 1.6045-1(n)(5) that you did not want to amortize bond premium under section 171.
12Bond premium on Treasury obligationsFor a U.S. Treasury obligation that is a covered security, enter the amount of bond premium amortization allocable to the interest paid during the tax year, unless you were notified in writing that the holder did not want to amortize bond premium under section 171.For a U.S. Treasury obligation that is a covered security, shows the amount of premium amortization allocable to the interest payment(s), unless you notified the payer in writing in accordance with Regulations section 1.6045-1(n)(5) that you did not want to amortize bond premium under section 171.
13Bond premium on tax-exempt bondFor a tax-exempt covered security acquired at a premium, enter the amount of bond premium amortization allocable to the interest paid during the tax year.For a tax-exempt covered security, shows the amount of premium amortization allocable to the interest payment(s).
14Tax-exempt and tax credit bond CUSIP no.For single bonds or accounts containing a single bond, enter the CUSIP number of the tax-exempt bond for which tax-exempt interest is reported in box 8 or tax credit bond (including build America bond and specified tax credit bond) for which a tax credit or taxable interest, as applicable, is reported in box 1.Shows CUSIP number(s) for tax-exempt bond(s) on which tax-exempt interest was paid, or tax credit bond(s) on which taxable interest was paid or tax credit was allowed, to you during the calendar year. If blank, no CUSIP number was issued for the bond(s).
15–17State, State identification no., State tax withheldThese boxes may be used by payers who participate in the Combined Federal/State Filing Program and/or who are required to file paper copies of this form with a state tax department.Boxes 15–17. State tax withheld reporting boxes.
Fields without a box number that have their own IRS instructions. Payer and recipient name, address and TIN fields, the account number and the 2nd TIN not. checkbox are not listed.
Field without a box numberIRS instructions to the payerCopy B text to the recipient
FATCA filing requirementCheck the box if you are a U.S. payer that is reporting on Form(s) 1099 (including reporting payments in boxes 1, 3, 8, 9, and 10 on this Form 1099-INT) as part of satisfying your requirement to report with respect to a U.S. account for chapter 4 purposes, as described in Regulations section 1.1471-4(d)(2)(iii)(A). In addition, check the box if you are a foreign financial institution (FFI) reporting payments to a U.S. account pursuant to an election described in Regulations section 1.1471-4(d)(5)(i)(A).If the FATCA filing requirement box is checked, the payer is reporting on this Form 1099 to satisfy its chapter 4 account reporting requirement. You may also have a filing requirement. See the Instructions for Form 8938.
Payer’s RTN (optional)If you are a financial institution that wishes to participate in the program for direct deposit of refunds, you may enter your routing transit number (RTN).A payer may include the RTN to identify the bank or financial institution where your account is held.
“The information provided may be different for covered and noncovered securities. For a description of covered securities, see the Instructions for Form 8949.”
IRS Form 1099-INT (Rev. January 2024), Copy B, Instructions for Recipient
“Nominees. If this form includes amounts belonging to another person(s), you are considered a nominee recipient. Complete a Form 1099-INT for each of the other owners showing the income allocable to each.”
IRS Form 1099-INT (Rev. January 2024), Instructions for Recipient (continued)

Who does not get a Form 1099-INT

The instructions list payees and interest that need no Form 1099-INT, and the lists are introduced as partial (“including, but not limited to”):

“You are not required to file Form 1099-INT for payments made to certain payees including, but not limited to, a corporation, a tax-exempt organization, any individual retirement arrangement (IRA), Archer medical savings account (MSA), Medicare Advantage MSA, health savings account (HSA), a U.S. agency, a state, the District of Columbia, a U.S. territory, a registered securities or commodities dealer, a nominee or custodian, a broker, or notional principal contract (swap) dealer. For additional exempt recipients, see Regulations section 1.6049-4 for more information. For situations when you are required to file Form 1099-INT for certain recipients that are otherwise generally exempt, but that receive credits from tax credit bonds, see Interest to holders of tax credit bonds under Box 1. Interest Income, later.”
IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024), Specific Instructions for Form 1099-INT, “Exempt recipients”
“You are not required to file Form 1099-INT for interest on an obligation issued by an individual, interest on amounts from sources outside the United States paid outside the United States by a non-U.S. payer or non-U.S. middleman, certain portfolio interest, interest on an obligation issued by an international organization and paid by that organization, and payments made to a foreign beneficial owner or foreign payee.”
IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024), Specific Instructions for Form 1099-INT, “Interest excluded from reporting”
“Do not report tax-deferred interest, such as interest that is earned but not distributed from an IRA.”
IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024), Specific Instructions for Form 1099-INT, “Other exception”
“If you pay U.S. bank deposit interest of at least $10 to certain nonresident alien individuals, report the interest on Form 1042-S, Foreign Person's U.S. Source Income Subject to Withholding.”
IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024), Reminders, “Nonresident aliens”

Due dates

Publication 1099 (2026) gives the dates in its Guide to Information Returns. The row for Form 1099-INT is shown below with its footnotes:

Guide to Information Returns, Publication 1099 (2026): the row for this form, as printed (asterisks refer to the footnotes quoted below).
FormAmounts to reportDue date to the IRSDue date to the recipient
Form 1099-INT$10 or more ($2,000**** or more in some cases)February 28*January 31**
“* The due date is March 31 if filed electronically.
** The due date is March 15 for reporting by trustees and middlemen of WHFITs.

****The amount is adjusted for inflation every year. Go to IRS.gov/InflationAdjustment for the current year inflation-adjusted amount.
”
IRS Publication 1099 (2026), Guide to Information Returns, footnotes under the table
“If any filing due date in these instructions falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, you will be considered to have timely filed if you file by the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday. Legal holidays for this purpose are legal holidays in the District of Columbia or a statewide legal holiday where the return is required to be filed.”
IRS Publication 1099 (2026), Guide to Information Returns

The instructions for the form say a statement goes to the recipient, and Publication 1099 says it can go earlier in some cases:

“If you are required to file Form 1099-INT, you must furnish a statement to the recipient. For more information about the requirement to furnish an official form or acceptable substitute statement to recipients, see part M in the current General Instructions for Certain Information Returns.”
IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024), Specific Instructions for Form 1099-INT, “Statements to recipients”
“However, you may issue them earlier in some situations, as provided by the regulations. For example, you may furnish Form 1099-INT to the recipient redeeming U.S. Savings Bonds at the time of redemption.”
IRS Publication 1099 (2026), Part M, “When to furnish forms or statements”

Interest on savings bonds and Treasury obligations is what box 3 reports. The savings bond calculator, I bond calculator and Treasury auction schedule cover those products, and the high-yield savings calculator and CD rate calculator cover bank interest.

Scope of this page

  • This page covers Form 1099-INT as the IRS documents listed under Sources describe it.
  • This page does not cover penalty amounts, state filing rules, or Form 1099-OID beyond the sentences quoted above, and it does not explain how any amount is taxed on a return; Copy B and the Instructions for Form 1040 are the IRS’s place for that.

Frequently asked questions

What is Form 1099-INT and who files it?

The IRS About Form 1099-INT page says the form, titled Interest Income, is filed for each person “To whom you paid amounts reportable in boxes 1, 3, and 8 of at least $10”, for whom you withheld and paid any foreign tax on interest, and from whom you withheld (and did not refund) any federal income tax under the backup withholding rules regardless of the amount of the payment. The form and instructions linked on that page were marked Rev. January 2024 when we checked on November 2, 2026.

What is the Form 1099-INT reporting threshold?

The Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024) have the payer file for amounts reportable in boxes 1, 3, or 8 of at least $10, or at least $600 of interest paid in the course of the payer’s trade or business described in the instructions for box 1. Publication 1099 (2026) lists Form 1099-INT as “$10 or more ($2,000**** or more in some cases)”, and a footnote says the amount is adjusted for inflation every year. The two IRS documents carry different years and different amounts, and this page does not decide which one applies to a particular payment.

What is the difference between box 1 and box 3 on Form 1099-INT?

The Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024) say, for box 1, to enter taxable interest not included in box 3, and, for box 3, to enter interest on U.S. Savings Bonds, Treasury bills, Treasury notes, and Treasury bonds and not include it in box 1. Copy B of Form 1099-INT (Rev. January 2024) says of box 3: “This may or may not all be taxable. See Pub. 550. This interest is exempt from state and local income taxes.”

What do boxes 8 and 9 on Form 1099-INT show?

Copy B of Form 1099-INT (Rev. January 2024) says box 8 “Shows tax-exempt interest paid to you during the calendar year by the payer” and box 9 “Shows tax-exempt interest subject to the alternative minimum tax. This amount is included in box 8.”

What do boxes 11, 12 and 13 on Form 1099-INT show?

The Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024) describe each as bond premium amortization allocable to the interest paid: box 11 for a taxable covered security acquired at a premium (other than a U.S. Treasury obligation), box 12 for a U.S. Treasury obligation that is a covered security, and box 13 for a tax-exempt covered security acquired at a premium. Copy B says of box 11: “If an amount is not reported in this box for a taxable covered security acquired at a premium and the payer is reporting premium amortization, the payer has reported a net amount of interest in box 1.” For box 13 it says: “If an amount is not reported in this box for a tax-exempt covered security acquired at a premium, the payer has reported a net amount of interest in box 8 or 9, whichever is applicable.” For box 12 the matching sentence refers to box 3.

When is Form 1099-INT due?

Publication 1099 (2026) lists Form 1099-INT with February 28 for the IRS and January 31 for the recipient. Its footnotes give March 31 if filed electronically, and the footnote attached to the recipient date says “The due date is March 15 for reporting by trustees and middlemen of WHFITs.” It also says that when a filing due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, a filer is considered timely if the filing is made by the next day that is not one of those.

Is interest that is original issue discount reported on Form 1099-INT?

The Instructions for Forms 1099-INT and 1099-OID (Rev. January 2024) say: “Report interest that is taxable OID in box 1 or 8 of Form 1099-OID, Original Issue Discount, not on Form 1099-INT.” They also say that for a specified private activity bond with OID, the tax-exempt OID goes in box 11 on Form 1099-OID and the tax-exempt stated interest in boxes 8 and 9 on Form 1099-INT.