Form 1098-T: Tuition Statement Boxes Explained
Form 1098-T is the Tuition Statement that an eligible educational institution files for each student it enrolls and for whom a reportable transaction is made, and that the IRS instructions have it furnish to the student; box 1 shows payments received for qualified tuition and related expenses during the calendar year (2026 on the 2026 form), which Publication 970 (2025) says might be different from the amount you actually paid and are deemed to have paid. Who is exempt, each box, the link to education credits and the due dates are below.
Maintained by Archie Chang · Sources checked against IRS text on November 2, 2026 · Methodology & sources
Who files Form 1098-T
The IRS describes the form in two sentences on its About page, and the instructions repeat the rule with the filing details:
“Eligible educational institutions file Form 1098-T for each student they enroll and for whom a reportable transaction is made.
Insurers file this form for each individual to whom they made reimbursements or refunds of qualified tuition and related expenses.”
“File Form 1098-T, Tuition Statement, if you are an eligible educational institution. You must file for each student you enroll and for whom a reportable transaction is made. Also, if you are an insurer, file Form 1098-T for each individual to whom you made reimbursements or refunds of qualified tuition and related expenses.”
The instructions also say what the filer gives the student, and what counts as an eligible educational institution:
“If you are required to file Form 1098-T, you must furnish a statement or acceptable substitute, on paper or electronically, to the student.”
“An eligible educational institution is a college, university, vocational school, or other postsecondary educational institution that is described in section 481 of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as in effect on August 5, 1997, and that is eligible to participate in the Department of Education’s student aid programs. This includes most accredited public, nonprofit, and private postsecondary institutions.”
The instructions add rules on governmental units and on other persons who collect payments, which also decide who files:
“You must file Form 1098-T if you are an eligible educational institution. An eligible educational institution that is a governmental unit, or an agency or instrumentality of a governmental unit, is subject to the reporting requirements of Form 1098-T. A designated officer or employee of the governmental entity must satisfy the reporting requirements of Form 1098-T.”
“If another person receives or collects payments of qualified tuition and related expenses on your behalf, the
[…]
other person must file Form 1098-T. However, if the other person does not possess the information necessary to comply with the reporting requirements of Form 1098-T, then you must satisfy the reporting requirements of Form 1098-T.”
Who does not get one
The instructions list exceptions, which they word as cases where the institution does not have to file or furnish a statement:
“Exceptions. You do not have to file Form 1098-T or furnish a statement for:
Courses for which no academic credit is offered, even if the student is otherwise enrolled in a degree program;
Nonresident alien students, unless requested by the student;
Students whose qualified tuition and related expenses are entirely waived or paid entirely with scholarships; and
Students for whom you do not maintain a separate financial account and whose qualified tuition and related expenses are covered by a formal billing arrangement between an institution and the student’s employer or a governmental entity, such as the Department of Veterans Affairs or the Department of Defense.”
Publication 970 (2025) also describes two cases in which a credit may be claimed without a Form 1098-T, with their conditions; both are quoted under “Form 1098-T and education credits” below.
Form 1098-T, box by box
These are the boxes on the 2026 Form 1098-T (catalog number 25087J), reporting calendar year 2026. The opening change notes in the 2026 Instructions for Forms 1098-E and 1098-T cover address fields, e-filing and IRIS and do not mention renumbered boxes. The instructions call boxes 2 and 3 reserved for future use.
| Box | Title in the IRS instructions | What the IRS says the box shows |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Payments Received for Qualified Tuition and Related Expenses | Shows the total payments received by an eligible educational institution in 2026 from any source for qualified tuition and related expenses less any reimbursements or refunds made during 2026 that relate to those payments received during 2026. |
| 2 | Reserved | Reserved for future use. |
| 3 | Reserved | Reserved for future use. |
| 4 | Adjustments Made for a Prior Year | Shows any adjustment made by an eligible educational institution for a prior year for qualified tuition and related expenses that were reported on a prior year Form 1098-T. This amount may reduce any allowable education credit that you claimed for the prior year (may result in an increase in tax liability for the year of the refund). See “recapture” in the index to Pub. 970 to report a reduction in your education credit or tuition and fees deduction. |
| 5 | Scholarships or Grants | Shows the total of all scholarships or grants administered and processed by the eligible educational institution. The amount of scholarships or grants for the calendar year (including those not reported by the institution) may reduce the amount of the education credit you claim for the year. TIP: You may be able to increase the combined value of an education credit and certain educational assistance (including Pell Grants) if the student includes some or all of the educational assistance in income in the year it is received. For details, see Pub. 970. |
| 6 | Adjustments to Scholarships or Grants for a Prior Year | Shows adjustments to scholarships or grants for a prior year. This amount may affect the amount of any allowable tuition and fees deduction or education credit that you claimed for the prior year. You may have to file an amended income tax return (Form 1040-X) for the prior year. |
| 7 | Checkbox for Amounts for an Academic Period Beginning in January Through March of 2027 | Shows whether the amount in box 1 includes amounts for an academic period beginning January–March 2027. See Pub. 970 for how to report these amounts. |
| 8 | Check if at Least Half-Time Student | Shows whether you are considered to be carrying at least one-half the normal full-time workload for your course of study at the reporting institution. |
| 9 | Check if a Graduate Student | Shows whether you are considered to be enrolled in a program leading to a graduate degree, graduate-level certificate, or other recognized graduate-level educational credential. |
| 10 | Insurance Contract Reimbursements or Refunds | Shows the total amount of reimbursements or refunds of qualified tuition and related expenses made by an insurer. The amount of reimbursements or refunds for the calendar year may reduce the amount of any education credit you can claim for the year (may result in an increase in tax liability for the year of the refund). |
Why box 1 can differ from what was paid
The instructions tell the filer how to figure box 1, and Publication 970 (2025) warns that it can differ from the amount a taxpayer paid:
“Enter the total amount of payments received for qualified tuition and related expenses from all sources during the calendar year. The amount reported is the total amount of payments received less any reimbursements or refunds made during the calendar year that relate to the payments received for qualified tuition and related expenses during the same calendar year. The amount reported is not reduced by scholarships and grants reported in box 5. Include in this box the receipt of a payment of past-due qualified tuition or related expenses from a previous calendar year, but only if the educational institution previously billed the student for such amount(s).”
“When figuring an education credit, use only the amounts you paid and are deemed to have paid during the tax year for qualified education expenses. In most cases, the student should receive Form 1098-T from the eligible educational institution by February 2, 2026 (January 31 falls on a Saturday). However, the amount on Form 1098-T might be different from the amount you actually paid and are deemed to have paid.”
The instructions also list what is not a qualified tuition and related expense, which is one place the difference can come from:
“Qualified tuition and related expenses are tuition, fees, and course materials required for a student to be enrolled at or attend an eligible educational institution.”
“The following are not qualified tuition and related expenses.
Amounts paid for any course or other education involving sports, games, or hobbies, unless the course or other education is part of the student’s degree program or is taken to acquire or improve job skills.
Charges and fees for room, board, insurance, medical expenses (including student health fees), transportation, and similar personal, living, or family expenses.”
Box 7 flags whether box 1 includes an academic period beginning January–March 2027, and box 5 shows scholarships or grants, as the table above words them.
Form 1098-T and education credits
Publication 970 (2025) links the form to the American opportunity credit and the lifetime learning credit:
“To be eligible to claim the American opportunity credit or lifetime learning credit, the law requires a taxpayer (or a dependent) to have received Form 1098-T from an eligible educational institution, whether domestic or foreign.”
Publication 970 (2025) then describes two exceptions, worded for tax year 2025, so the dates in them are 2025 dates. The first covers a student whose institution is not required to furnish the form:
“However, you may claim a credit if the student doesn’t receive a Form 1098-T because the student’s educational institution isn’t required to furnish a Form 1098-T to the student under existing rules (for example, if the student is a qualified nonresident alien, has qualified education expenses paid entirely with scholarships, has qualified education expenses paid under a formal billing arrangement, or is enrolled in courses for which no academic credit is awarded). If a student’s educational institution isn’t required to provide Form 1098-T to the student, you may claim a credit without Form 1098-T if you otherwise qualify, can demonstrate that you (or a dependent) were enrolled at an eligible educational institution, and can substantiate the payment of qualified tuition and related expenses.”
The second covers an institution that is required to furnish it, when the student does not receive it:
“You may also claim a credit if the student attended an eligible educational institution required to furnish Form 1098-T but the student doesn’t receive Form 1098-T before you file your tax return (for example, if the institution is otherwise required to furnish Form 1098-T and doesn’t furnish it or refuses to do so) and you take the following required steps: After February 2, 2026 (January 31 falls on a Saturday), but before you file your 2025 tax return, you or the student must request that the educational institution furnish Form 1098-T. You must fully cooperate with the educational institution’s efforts to gather the information needed to furnish Form 1098-T. You must also otherwise qualify for the benefit, be able to demonstrate that you (or a dependent) were enrolled at an eligible educational institution, and substantiate the payment of qualified tuition and related expenses.”
Copy B words the link this way:
“This is important tax information and is being furnished to the IRS. This form must be used to complete Form 8863 to claim education credits. Give it to the tax preparer or use it to prepare the tax return.”
“You, or the person who can claim you as a dependent, may be able to claim an education credit on Form 1040 or 1040-SR. This statement has been furnished to you by an eligible educational institution in which you are enrolled, or by an insurer who makes reimbursements or refunds of qualified tuition and related expenses to you. This statement is required to support any claim for an education credit. Retain this statement for your records. To see if you qualify for a credit, and for help in calculating the amount of your credit, see Pub. 970, Form 8863, and the Instructions for Form 1040.”
This page does not calculate a credit. To see if a credit applies and how to figure it, Copy B points to Publication 970, Form 8863 and the Instructions for Form 1040. For other education money pages, see the 529 contribution limit and federal student loan limits.
Due dates
Publication 1099 (2026) has a guide to information returns with one row per form. The guide’s two date columns are headed “To IRS” and “To recipient”, and a footnote adds the electronic filing date:
“Due date Form Title What to report Amounts to report To IRS To recipient (unless indicated otherwise)”
“1098-T Tuition Statement Qualified tuition and related expenses, reimbursements or refunds, and scholarships or grants (optional). See form instructions February 28* January 31”
“* The due date is March 31 if filed electronically.”
The guide also has a rule for dates that fall on a weekend or holiday:
“If any filing due date in these instructions falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, you will be considered to have timely filed if you file by the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday.”
Publication 970 (2025), quoted above, gave February 2, 2026 for the 2025 forms because January 31 fell on a Saturday. The other IRS information returns on this site are Form 1099-NEC and the 1099-R distribution codes.
What this page does not cover
- Credit amounts, eligibility thresholds and whether a particular charge is a qualified expense for a credit; Publication 970 covers those.
- Penalties for filers and state reporting rules.
Frequently asked questions
What is Form 1098-T?
Form 1098-T is the Tuition Statement. The IRS instructions say an eligible educational institution files it for each student it enrolls and for whom a reportable transaction is made, and an insurer files it for each individual to whom it made reimbursements or refunds of qualified tuition and related expenses. The instructions also say a filer required to file Form 1098-T must furnish a statement to the student.
Who gets a 1098-T?
The eligible educational institution files Form 1098-T for each student it enrolls and for whom a reportable transaction is made. The instructions list the cases where the institution does not have to file or furnish a statement: courses for which no academic credit is offered, nonresident alien students unless requested by the student, students whose qualified tuition and related expenses are entirely waived or paid entirely with scholarships, and students for whom the institution keeps no separate financial account and whose expenses are covered by a formal billing arrangement with the student’s employer or a governmental entity.
What does box 1 of Form 1098-T show?
On the 2026 form, box 1 shows the total payments an eligible educational institution received in 2026 from any source for qualified tuition and related expenses, less any reimbursements or refunds made during 2026 that relate to those payments. The instructions say the amount reported is not reduced by the scholarships and grants reported in box 5.
Why can box 1 differ from what was paid?
Publication 970 (2025) says the amount on Form 1098-T might be different from the amount a taxpayer actually paid and is deemed to have paid. Differences can follow from these rules in the instructions: box 1 counts payments received during the calendar year; a payment of past-due amounts from a previous calendar year is included only if the institution previously billed the student; box 7 flags amounts for an academic period beginning January–March 2027; and charges for room, board, insurance, medical expenses, transportation and similar personal, living, or family expenses are not qualified tuition and related expenses.
Is Form 1098-T needed for an education credit?
Publication 970 (2025) says the law requires a taxpayer (or a dependent) to have received Form 1098-T from an eligible educational institution to be eligible for the American opportunity credit or lifetime learning credit. It then describes two exceptions, worded for tax year 2025. First, if the institution is not required to furnish Form 1098-T under existing rules, a credit may be claimed without one if the claimant otherwise qualifies, can demonstrate enrollment at an eligible educational institution, and can substantiate the payment of qualified tuition and related expenses. Second, if the institution is required to furnish it but the student does not receive it before the return is filed, a credit may be claimed after taking required steps, including a request to the institution after February 2, 2026 and before filing the 2025 return, full cooperation with the institution, and the same enrollment and payment showing. Copy B of the form says it must be used to complete Form 8863.
What does box 5 report?
Box 5 shows the total of all scholarships or grants administered and processed by the eligible educational institution. Copy B says the amount of scholarships or grants for the calendar year, including those not reported by the institution, may reduce the amount of the education credit claimed for the year.
When is Form 1098-T due?
The Publication 1099 (2026) guide lists February 28 in its “To IRS” column and January 31 in its “To recipient” column for Form 1098-T. Put together, that is January 31 to the recipient; February 28 to the IRS (March 31 if filed electronically). If a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, a filing made by the next day that is not one is timely. Publication 970 (2025) gave February 2, 2026 for statements covering 2025 because January 31 fell on a Saturday.
Related IRS form pages and calculators
Sources (checked November 2, 2026): IRS: 2026 Instructions for Forms 1098-E and 1098-T, PDF · IRS: Form 1098-T (2026), PDF · IRS: About Form 1098-T · IRS: Publication 970 (2025), Tax Benefits for Education, PDF · IRS: Publication 1099, General Instructions for Certain Information Returns (2026), PDF