Does Whole Foods Take EBT or Accept SNAP?

Whole Foods Market’s grocery FAQ says: “Yes, SNAP EBT payments are accepted for SNAP eligible products on delivery and pickup orders in U.S. Whole Foods Market locations.” The FAQ we read answers the online question; it does not state a rule for paying with EBT at the checkout lane in a store.

Maintained by Archie Chang · Reviewed November 1, 2026 · Methodology & sources

What Whole Foods Market says

“Yes, SNAP EBT payments are accepted for SNAP eligible products on delivery and pickup orders in U.S. Whole Foods Market locations.”
“No, USDA requirements prohibit using your SNAP EBT funds to cover shipping, delivery or service fees.”
Whole Foods Market FAQ (source, read on November 1, 2026)

SNAP online and delivery: what USDA says

USDA FNS says SNAP online purchasing is available in the states it lists, and that fees are not covered:

“SNAP online is currently available in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.”
“Only eligible food may be purchased with SNAP benefits; delivery fees and other associated charges may not be paid for with SNAP benefits.”
USDA FNS, Stores accepting SNAP online (source, read from the Internet Archive capture of May 28, 2026; the page shows “Page updated: February 17, 2026”)

USDA publishes a list of retailers accepting SNAP online for each state. The California list we read (Internet Archive capture of March 17, 2026) includes “Whole Foods”. Other states have their own lists, so check yours on USDA’s page.

What SNAP can and cannot buy

At any store, EBT pays only for what USDA allows. This is USDA FNS’s own list.

  • Any food for the household, such as:
  • Fruits and vegetables;
  • Meat, poultry, and fish;
  • Dairy products;
  • Breads and cereals;
  • Other foods such as snack foods and non-alcoholic beverages; and
  • Seeds and plants, which produce food for the household to eat.
  • Households CANNOT use SNAP benefits to buy:
  • Beer, wine, and liquor.
  • Cigarettes and tobacco.
  • Food and drinks containing controlled substances such as cannabis/marijuana and CBD.
  • Vitamins, medicines, and supplements. If an item has a Supplement Facts label, it is considered a supplement and is not eligible for SNAP purchase.
  • Live animals (except shellfish, fish removed from water, and animals slaughtered prior to pick-up from the store).
  • Foods that are hot at the point of sale.
  • Any nonfood items such as:
  • Pet foods
  • Cleaning supplies, paper products, and other household supplies.
  • Hygiene items and cosmetics
USDA FNS, What can SNAP buy? (source, read from the Internet Archive capture of June 10, 2026; the page shows “Page updated: June 04, 2025”)

Check a specific store

A chain’s statement does not replace a check of the store you plan to use. USDA FNS says:

“The SNAP Retailer Locator allows anyone to locate nearby SNAP-authorized retailers by entering a street address, city and state or zip code.”
USDA FNS, SNAP Retailer Locator (source, read from the Internet Archive capture of May 28, 2026; the page shows “Page updated: February 17, 2026”)

Open the USDA SNAP Retailer Locator and enter your address or zip code.

Frequently asked questions

Does Whole Foods take EBT in the store?

The Whole Foods Market FAQ we read covers “delivery and pickup orders.” When we checked on ${L}, that FAQ did not state a rule for in-store payment, so check with the store. The USDA SNAP Retailer Locator lists SNAP-authorized retailers.

Can I use EBT for Whole Foods delivery?

Whole Foods says SNAP EBT payments are accepted “for SNAP eligible products on delivery and pickup orders in U.S. Whole Foods Market locations.”

Can I pay the Whole Foods delivery or service fee with EBT?

No. Whole Foods says “USDA requirements prohibit using your SNAP EBT funds to cover shipping, delivery or service fees.”

What can I buy with EBT from Whole Foods?

SNAP-eligible products only, which follow USDA’s list. USDA says households cannot use SNAP benefits to buy beer, wine and liquor, vitamins and supplements, or foods that are hot at the point of sale.

Related pages

Sources

Reviewed November 1, 2026. Each answer comes from the retailer’s own statement or from USDA, quoted word for word; a page we could only read as an Internet Archive capture says so, with the capture date. Store policies change, so the date of each copy matters.

USDA Food and Nutrition Service

The retailer’s own pages