Pennsylvania Medicaid Eligibility Income 2026: Limits by Household Size
Pennsylvania's own chart, effective January 13, 2026, lets one adult have up to $1,835.42 a month (the annual figure divided by 12) and a household of four up to $3,795 a month for adults, which is 138% of FPIG (133% plus the 5% disregard) of the federal poverty level. Every figure below comes from the state agency's own chart, effective January 13, 2026 (adult table), not from federal averages or the old Medicaid.gov table.
Maintained by Archie Chang · Charts and sources checked October 30, 2026 · Methodology & sources
Check your income
Enter the whole household's countable income. States count income with MAGI rules, so this is a starting point, not a decision.
Result
Your income is at or below Pennsylvania's chart amount for this group.
- Your income, a year
- $18,000
- Household size used in the chart
- 1
- Pennsylvania chart amount, a year, 138% of FPIG (133% plus the 5% disregard)
- $22,025
- Pennsylvania chart amount, a month
- $1,835.42
This is not an eligibility decision. Pennsylvania Department of Human Services (DHS) decides what income counts (MAGI rules), who is in the household and the final result. Apply to find out: COMPASS.
Pennsylvania Medicaid income limit chart, 2026
Monthly and annual limits by household size for each group the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services (DHS) prints. Bold figures are printed by the state; italic figures are FedRateCalc's calculation (a monthly figure times 12, an annual figure divided by 12). The state chart effective date is January 13, 2026 (adult table).
| Household size | Adults 19 to 64138% of FPIG (133% plus the 5% disregard)Effective January 13, 2026 | Pregnant women215%Effective Not stated on the table | Infants under age 1215%Effective Not stated on the table | Children age 1 to 5157%Effective Not stated on the table | Children age 6 to under 19133%Effective Not stated on the table |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,835 a month$22,025 a year | $2,860 a month$34,320 a year | $2,860 a month$34,320 a year | $2,089 a month$25,068 a year | $1,769 a month$21,228 a year |
| 2 | $2,489 a month$29,864 a year | $3,878 a month$46,536 a year | $3,878 a month$46,536 a year | $2,832 a month$33,984 a year | $2,399 a month$28,788 a year |
| 3 | $3,142 a month$37,702 a year | $4,895 a month$58,740 a year | $4,895 a month$58,740 a year | $3,575 a month$42,900 a year | $3,028 a month$36,336 a year |
| 4 | $3,795 a month$45,540 a year | $5,913 a month$70,956 a year | $5,913 a month$70,956 a year | $4,318 a month$51,816 a year | $3,658 a month$43,896 a year |
| 5 | $4,448 a month$53,379 a year | $6,931 a month$83,172 a year | $6,931 a month$83,172 a year | $5,061 a month$60,732 a year | $4,288 a month$51,456 a year |
| 6 | $5,101 a month$61,217 a year | $7,948 a month$95,376 a year | $7,948 a month$95,376 a year | $5,804 a month$69,648 a year | $4,917 a month$59,004 a year |
| 7 | $5,755 a month$69,056 a year | $8,966 a month$107,592 a year | $8,966 a month$107,592 a year | $6,547 a month$78,564 a year | $5,547 a month$66,564 a year |
| 8 | $6,408 a month$76,894 a year | $9,984 a month$119,808 a year | $9,984 a month$119,808 a year | $7,291 a month$87,492 a year | $6,176 a month$74,112 a year |
- DHS prints the adult table as annual amounts and the children and pregnancy table as monthly amounts. Pennsylvania does not print a 2026 dollar table for parents and caretaker relatives on the pages checked, so none is shown.
- The children and pregnancy amounts equal the stated percentages of the 2026 poverty guidelines (FedRateCalc's calculation, within a dollar), because the table does not print an effective date.
- DHS says the children and pregnant women programs have no resource requirements: vehicles, property and life insurance are not considered.
Chart sources: Pennsylvania DHS: Medicaid (Medicaid Income Requirements, 138% of FPIG); Pennsylvania DHS: Medicaid/Medical Assistance for Children and Pregnant Women.
How Pennsylvania counts the 5 percent disregard
Federal rules tell states to subtract 5 percentage points of the poverty level from income for the eligibility group with the highest income standard. That is why some state charts print a percentage such as 133% and others print the total, such as 138%.
“Effective January 1, 2014, in determining the eligibility of an individual using MAGI-based income, a state must subtract an amount equivalent to 5 percentage points of the Federal poverty level for the applicable family size only to determine the eligibility of an individual for medical assistance under the eligibility group with the highest income standard using MAGI-based methodologies in the applicable Title of the Act, but not to determine eligibility for a particular eligibility group.”
In Pennsylvania's chart, the amounts for Adults 19 to 64 already include the 5 points, so the table shows the total and the checker above has no separate step for them.
The household size in the chart for a pregnant woman counts the children she is expected to deliver:
“In the case of determining the family size of a pregnant woman, the pregnant woman is counted as herself plus the number of children she is expected to deliver. In the case of determining the family size of other individuals who have a pregnant woman in their household, the pregnant woman is counted, at State option, as either 1 or 2 person(s) or as herself plus the number of children she is expected to deliver.”
In Pennsylvania's chart, the amounts for Pregnant women; Infants under age 1; Children age 1 to 5; Children age 6 to under 19 are the plain percentage. The checker above adds 5 percent of the 2026 guideline to those amounts as its own calculation to show income that is just over the printed amount.
Pennsylvania Medicaid programs and expansion
Pennsylvania's general eligibility page lists "Adults ages 19-64 with incomes at or below 133 percent of the Federal Income Poverty Guidelines (FPIG)" as a MAGI group.
- Medical Assistance (Medicaid). Pennsylvania DHS calls Medicaid "Medical Assistance"; its MAGI groups are children 18 and under, pregnant women, parents and caretakers of children under 21 and adults 19 to 64.
- Children and pregnancy. Pregnant women and infants under 1 at 215%, children 1 to 5 at 157% and children 6 to under 19 at 133%, as monthly dollar amounts.
- CHIP. DHS publishes a separate 2026 CHIP income chart effective March 1, 2026; it is not reproduced here.
How to apply for Medicaid in Pennsylvania
Apply online through COMPASS, by phone at 1-866-550-4355, in person at a county assistance office, or by mail. DHS lists all four ways on its page for children and pregnant women.
Pennsylvania Medicaid changes in 2027
DHS lists January 1, 2027 for work and community engagement requirements and for six-month renewals.
“Work requirements go into effect for adult Medicaid recipients ages 19-64 who do not have a dependent child under 14 years old and do not meet an exemption.”
“Medicaid coverage will not automatically change on January 1. Current Medicaid recipients will need to report they are meeting the new requirements or an exemption at their next renewal date in 2027.”
“Current Medicaid recipients will switch to six months renewals after completing their next Medicaid renewal in or after February 2027.”
The federal law behind these changes, Public Law 119-21, is explained with its exemptions and dates on the Medicaid income limits page. The income limits in the table above do not change because of it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Pennsylvania Medicaid income limit in 2026?
Pennsylvania's own chart, effective January 13, 2026, lets one adult have up to $1,835.42 a month (the annual figure divided by 12) and a household of four up to $3,795 a month for adults, which is 138% of FPIG (133% plus the 5% disregard) of the federal poverty level.
Did Pennsylvania expand Medicaid?
Pennsylvania's general eligibility page lists "Adults ages 19-64 with incomes at or below 133 percent of the Federal Income Poverty Guidelines (FPIG)" as a MAGI group.
How do I apply for Medicaid in Pennsylvania?
Apply online through COMPASS, by phone at 1-866-550-4355, in person at a county assistance office, or by mail. DHS lists all four ways on its page for children and pregnant women.
What changes for Pennsylvania Medicaid in 2027?
DHS lists January 1, 2027 for work and community engagement requirements and for six-month renewals. The charts on this page are 2026 charts; the community engagement requirement and six-month renewals are separate from the income limits.
Do the same limits apply to Pennsylvania seniors and people with disabilities?
No. Medicaid for people who are aged, blind or disabled uses different income and resource rules from the MAGI groups in this chart. Ask the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services (DHS) or see Medicare vs Medicaid on this site.
How often does Pennsylvania update its Medicaid income limits?
The charts follow the federal poverty guidelines, which HHS updates each year, and Pennsylvania's chart took effect January 13, 2026 (adult table). FedRateCalc will look for Pennsylvania's 2027 chart after HHS publishes the 2027 guidelines.
Related pages
FedRateCalc is not a government site and cannot decide eligibility. Charts change when the state updates them; confirm with the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services (DHS) before relying on a figure.
Sources
All sources are government pages, read October 30, 2026. The Medicaid.gov table is dated December 1, 2023 and is used only as a cross-check.
- Medicaid.gov: Medicaid, CHIP & Basic Health Program Eligibility Levels (table as of December 1, 2023)
- Pennsylvania DHS: Medicaid (Medicaid Income Requirements, 138% of FPIG)
- Pennsylvania DHS: Medicaid/Medical Assistance for Children and Pregnant Women
- Pennsylvania DHS: Medicaid General Eligibility
- Pennsylvania DHS: Changes Coming to Medicaid in Pennsylvania
- 42 CFR 435.603, application of modified adjusted gross income (eCFR)
- 42 CFR 435.119, adults at or below 133 percent FPL (eCFR)
- 42 U.S.C. 1396a, United States Code 2024 Edition (govinfo)
- Public Law 119-21, sections 71107 and 71119 (govinfo)
- HealthCare.gov: Getting Medicaid & CHIP coverage